Four days ago, i.e. on Monday, The Associated Press revealed their investigation that instead of user’s turning off Google’s Location History toggle in their control panel, Google still continues to track their location going against their choice. When confronted by AP, Google came forward with a user-blaming statement that they are doing this “to improve people’s experience”.

Google previously said, “With Location History off, the places you go are no longer stored”, which turns out to be a wrong statement. Resulting, Google faced backlash regarding the misleading nature of toggle. Afterwards, Google tried to come clean about it, saying:

“Location History is a Google product that is entirely opt-in, and users have the controls to edit, delete, or turn it off at any time. As the story notes, we make sure Location History users know that when they disable the product, we continue to use location to improve the Google experience when they do things like performing a Google search or use Google for driving directions.”

Actually what is happening is that Google is no longer adding the user’s location and movement to its timeline feature, but the company is still tracking the movement through other methods.

The question here is how can you stop Google from tracking you?

Toggling off the Location History button on the control panel will only stop Google to record the movement of the user. You can turn off Google’s tracking feature by disabling the “Web and App Activity” option (enable by default). Turing it off will stop Google from tracking and storing your Maps data and provide a customised search result for your location anymore.

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here